(Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, TPL, Ishiaq Yinka Oloruko-oba (7th left); State Project Coordinator, L-PRES, Mr. Olusoji Oyawoye (6th right) and other Technical Committee Members in a group photograph at the Ministry of Agriculture Headquarters in Ilorin.)

...urges members to ensure prudence in project implementation.

The Kwara State Government has inaugurated the Technical Committee on Livestock Productivity and Resilience Support Project (L-PRES). 

The committee, among others, is expected to provide technical backstopping for the State Coordinating Office (SCO) of the project.

The Chairman of the Technical Committee, Tpl. Ishiaq Yinka Oloruko-oba, while inaugurating the committee members, enjoined them to work towards the realization of both the Project Development Objectives (PDO), and the present administration's vision on improved livestock sub-sector.

Tpl. Oloruko-oba, who is also the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, said part of the cardinal responsibilities of the technical committee is to review the project design, and ensure proper monitoring of the progress of the project.

According to the Chairman, the committee would meet regularly to assess the implementation progress of the project in the state.

He, however, urged the newly inaugurated members to ensure prudence in the implementation of the project with a view to being a reference point to other participating states.

Earlier in his remarks, the State Project Coordinator, Mr. Olusoji Oyawoye disclosed that
Kwara State is one of the six states that were declared disbursement effective. 

Oyawoye added that one of the criteria for the commencement of the project is the constitution and inauguration of both the State Steering Committee and Technical Committee that would be responsible for oversight functions and technical backstopping for the project implementation.

Presenting the project annual work plan for 2023 to the committee members, the Coordinator explained that activities captured were fundamental to the smooth and efficient implementation of the project in the state.

He further appreciated Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq (CON), who also doubles as the Chairman, Nigeria Governors' Forum for creating enabling environment for the smooth take-off of the project, assuring the committee members of the governor's unreserved cooperation for the progress of the state.

The inaugurated committee members include; Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, Tpl. Ishiaq Yinka Oloruko-oba (Chairman); Director of Animal Husbandry, Ministry of Agriculture (Member); Director, Agric Services, (Member); Director, Veterinary Services, (Member); Director, Fisheries Services, (Member); Director, Agric. Engineering Services, (Member); and Managing Director, Kwara ADP, (Member). 

Other members are the representatives of Ministries of Water Resources, Environment, Local Government, Chieftaincy Affairs, and Community Development, Women Affairs, Business, Innovation, and Technology, Kwara Geographic Information Services, while the Project Coordinator would serve as Secretary.

Yusuf Ganiyu Adebisi
Project Communication/ICT Officer
Kwara L-pres.


Popular posts from this blog

Kwara Gov Appoints Ayilara, Banigbe, Alaka advisers

Kwara Open for Collaborations to Process Solid Minerals Locally: Gov AbdulRazaq

Gov. AbdulRazaq approves payment of Bursary, Scholarship Award for Kwara State Indigene Students in Tertiary Institutions